Four days of drink, music and tents

Standard

As you can probably tell from the title of this, I went to Reading Festival over the bank holiday weekend and it was amazing. It’s not first festival or first time there, but I always forget how fucking awesome festivals are. I don’t understand why more people don’t go at least once a year. What’s not to like? Booze, music, mates and camping. Alright, the toilet situation I sort of understand, but if you really don’t want to use the long-drops, then you could splash a bit of cash and go to “The seat of luxury” or “the fancy loos” as I call them.

I think it’s fair to say that the majority of those that attend Reading Festival are 16 year olds gone crazy after getting their GCSE results and just want to get pissed in a field with a bit of music, but I genuinely went for the music. Here’s a list of what I saw:

Friday:
-Misty Miller
-Howson Taylor
-Crossfaith
-Drenge
-Fat White Family
-Catfish and the Bottlemen
-Metronomy
-Queens of the Stone Age

Saturday:
-X Ambassadors
-Wolf Alice
-Hozier
-Circa Waves
-Royal Blood
-Cage the Elephant
-Bombay Bicycle Club
-Arctic Monkeys

Sunday:
-Saint Raymond
-Lucius
-Clean Bandits
-The Kooks
-Macklemore and Ryan Lewis
-Blink 182

So I saw quite a lot in my opinion. I also saw Milton Jones, well I sat outside the tent by a speaker because it was absolutely rammed with people inside.
Realistically there is too much for me to talk about so I’ll just say who were my favourites quickly and a bit why briefly. Here’s who:
Drenge, Fat White Family, Metronomy, Queens of the Stone Age, Hozier, Circa waves (I was at the front woo), Royal Blood, Bombay Bicycle club, Arctic Monkeys, Saint Raymond, Blink 182.

Drenge and Royal Blood are both grunge rock type bands, and their performance was just amazing. Their sound plus the way they played was jaw-dropping.

Fat White Family just absolutely loved being up on the stage. They were clearly on something, but they were all throwing themselves around the stage, dancing, screaming. It was truly something to behold.

Metronomy were just really cool, they had choreographed dance moves and they played some great dancing tunes, so I just had a good ol’ sing song and dance for an hour or so. It was great. ‘nough said.

Hozier, Saint Raymond and Circa Waves were on my favourites for their sound more than anything, they sounded good and I enjoyed singing along and watching them because you could tell how much performing at Reading meant.

Bombay Bicycle Club were definitely my second favourite behind Arctic Monkeys and a close second at that. I really didn’t want to leave their set, but had to for the Arctic Monkeys who are my favourite band of all time, ever ever ever ever (Yes that amount of ever’s was needed). I always listen to Bombay at home, but haven’t seen them before despite the fact they’ve been at other fests I’ve been to. Now I want to them live again and again. It’s awesome dancing music, everyone jumps around, doesn’t matter if you can or not, just go for it everyone else is. I just can’t explain how amazing they are live. Go see them. They’re on tour soon. Go buy a ticket now. I’m about to.

Arctic Monkeys were incredible. They are possibly the coolest band ever. They sound incredible and they love their fans. I think it’s pretty clear why they were amazing to see. Just listen to one song or talk to a fan about them.

That’s all for now.

Leave a comment